It was Never that Serious

The other day a friend asked me to pick them up for an event because they couldn’t get a ride. The event was in Newark and they lived in Belleville and I was already gonna be late. I didn’t know how far Belleville was from my house in Orange, but my gut was telling me it wasn’t close. I was probably looking at 20-30 minutes in the opposite direction.

Yeah If You Could Just - if you could just find another ride that would be great

I was this close to telling them that I couldn’t pick them up, but when I finally asked them for the address and mapquested it, it turned out to be 10 minutes away. So apparently, it was never that serious.

This happens to me all the time. I’ll have something to do and immediately act like it’s the hardest thing in the world and start complaining, “I’ve got SOOOO much to do…SOOO much to study…This paper is SOOO long…this class is SOOOO hard…” etc. But when I actually get started on it, I find out that it was never that serious.

Of course there are times where we really do have serious problems. But my point is that no matter how bad a situation is, we have an incredible ability to exaggerate how bad it really it is and focus on the negative.

So the next time you’re tempted to complain about how hard something is, remember: it was never that serious.

Leave a Reply

