Life Lessons from Parkour: Courage

I’ve recently started doing parkour and I’ve been learning a lot of life lessons from it and wanted to share one with you.

I’ve been working on  getting enough guts to do a back flip off of a ledge so I decided to start small and back flip off a slide at the park(By the way, parkour isn’t actually about flipping at all. It’s about getting from one place to another as smoothly as possible. Flips just make it look cool.)

So every week, I’d do some stunts, jump over railings, climb stuff etc. And every week, I’d ask God to help me get over my fear of doing something, He’d give me a push and I’d get up and do it.

But when the day finally came for me to do the back flip, I stood on the slide, scared out of my mind, and asked God to give me courage. And I got silence.

It was like the doors of Heaven had been shut in my face and the sound echoed through every corner of my mind. I just stood there all alone at the edge of the slide, looking like an idiot.

So I kept asking Him for help and eventually He responded, “There comes a time when I can no longer help you do what I’ve asked you to do. I’ve given you everything you need. Now just do it.”

And that was it.

I had a choice. I could either walk away and go back home or I could suck it up and flip.

So I flipped. And I landed it.

I learned that there are some things God will not give you—courage is one of them; because courage is not given, it gets called out of you. So if God has asked you to do something and you’re waiting for Him to download courage into you to do it, it’s probably not gonna happen. Chances are He’s been training you for this moment for years and now’s the time for you to step out on the ledge, take a deep breath and jump.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

                                                                                                                                             Joshua 1:9

Leave a Reply

