Cupid’s Bullets: Winter

“Heads up.”

A feeling clanged into the doorknob on my right. He twirled his revolver in his fingers as he winked at me from across the table.

“Watch where you’re shooting,” I said, taking a sip of my hot chocolate. The snow was falling in a dazzling curtain of white diamonds in the windows behind him. But nothing was as mesmerizing as the way he was looking at me right now. And the hot chocolate was warm, but not as warm as the butterflies swarming in my stomach. Both my hands were wrapped around my mug, but I could still feel my revolver pressed tight in its holster against my thigh. He couldn’t see my leg under the table, but he had to know that my gun was loaded with feelings for him. Why else would he be shooting at me? On a night like this?

“How’d you find out about this place?” I asked him.

“Huh?” he blinked and snapped out of a daydream. “Uh…a friend of mine.”

I set my mug down and smirked at him. “What were you thinking about?”

“Nothing,” he shrugged. And he flashed me that smile that made my insides melt.

“Tell me,” I said, reaching for my thigh. “Don’t be shy.”

His revolver twirled around his finger again and he fired another feeling. The doorknob on my left dinged this time.

I shut my eyes and chuckled softly. “You need to stop shooting around like this.”

“What?” he said, coming out of his daydream again. Was this how distracted I looked to him? What was he thinking about me?

“C’mon,” I said, hand on my revolver now. “Are you gonna be a straight shooter?”

He bit his bottom lip then chuckled as he leaned closer across the table. Everyone else in the restaurant faded out of existence in that moment. All the other diners chewing disappeared, the clatter of the utensils was silenced, and all I heard and saw was him smiling at me. My ears anticipated the words coming out of his mouth as he steadied his revolver and aimed it straight at my face.

“What were you thinking about?” I asked him again.

He grinned and tightened his finger around the trigger. Then he pulled his arm back, swung at me, and fired. I shut my eyes and waited for the feeling to hit my heart, but it never came. Instead, I felt the wind of it tug at my hair as it curled around my head. Then I heard a scream behind me. When I opened my eyes, he was standing up and looking over my shoulder. I looked back and saw another woman lying on the floor, a feeling lodged into her chest. She was staring up at him with a dreamy look in her eyes.

I couldn’t believe this.

“Are you kidding me?” I snapped at him. “So you’re just gonna curve me like that?”

But he wasn’t even paying attention to me anymore. There was a gunshot and the girl on the floor fired a feeling into his chest and he dropped to the floor, laughing his head off.

Real funny. I was glad he was having fun. Because even though he hadn’t shot me, my heart was still bleeding.

 

Leave a Reply

