Cupid’s Bullets: Summer

“I’m here.”

“Are you, now?” I replied.

“Turn around.”

I didn’t.

Instead, I walked across the library and headed into a study room.

“Why are you doing this?” his voice said in my earpiece.

“Just to make things interesting.”

“You don’t believe, do you?” He didn’t sound frustrated.

“No,” I lied. “You’re bluffing.”

I strode past a group of students with their noses in their books and headed straight to the exit on the other end of the room. I walked into the hall, got into the elevator, and took it to the third floor.

“And I know that you—” The elevator doors opened while I was in mid-sentence and he was standing there in front of me, gun aimed straight at my face.

   Son of a gun.

He’d called my bluff. He’d known what I would do. Dang it. That’s what happened when you let your friends know you too well. He knew my tricks. He’d studied me. He’d done his homework. Good for him.

“You gonna shoot me?” I asked him, hands at my sides. I wasn’t giving up that easy.

He stared at me for a second then loosened up and slipped his gun into his hlster. “No. Just wanted to get your attention.”

I rolled my eyes. “What do you want?”

He walked up to me and stopped a few inches away from my face. I didn’t show any sign that I was uneasy.

“I want a duel,” he said.

I raised an eyebrow. “A duel?”

“A duel.”

I grinned, locking his stare, but inwardly wanting to scream and run away. “But you don’t know what my gun is loaded with. We’ve got a pretty good thing going here. This could kill you.”

His eyes never left mine. “That’s a risk I’m willing to take.”

I looked away that time.

“Ten paces. On my count. Turn and shoot. Deal?”

“Deal,” I nodded. “May the best shooter win.”

We turned so our backs were facing then took ten steps away from each other. I hit my tenth step then whirled and fired. But not before his gunshot echoed through the room. The feeling ripped into my heart and I dropped to my knees, the emotions seeping through my system like a liquid crush. I looked up, smiling, and saw him on his knees too, my feeling lodged into his heart. He grinned at me and dropped his gun to the floor.

“I like you,” he said.

I grinned back. “I like you too.”

 

Leave a Reply

