The Chronicles of Eden: Chapter 1

She woke up to the sound of birds chirping around her. There were branches above her dressed with every kind of fruit imaginable: bright tangerines, fiery red mangoes and vines of purple grapes were snaking along the jungle floor.

She stood and a pair of animals suddenly approached her and she was surprised by the excitement on their faces.

“What’s your name?” one of them asked.

“Eve,” she replied. “And what’s yours?”

“I’m Elephant,” it answered.

“I’m Parrot,” said the other.

“Well, aren’t you the most adorable looking things,” she bent down and cooed. Then she straightened up and had a look around the jungle. This place was a mess. “You guys really need a woman’s touch here. Would you help me tidy things up a bit?”

“Sure thing,” said Parrot. “But first you should meet Adam.”

“Adam?” Eve asked. “Who’s Adam?”

“He’s another human on the east of Eden.”

She tilted her head at them. “You mean there’s another human? I thought I was the only one. Why hasn’t he cleaned up this place?”

“Well, he does…” Elephant started. “He just needs a little help.”

“Hmmm,” she scoffed. “That’s too bad for him.”

“Yeah,” Parrot said. “You need to meet him.”

“Need?” Why did that word sound so strange to her? “I’m sorry, I don’t even know what that means.”

“You need to meet him,” Parrot repeated.

“Why?” What did this Adam have that she didn’t? Seeing how he’d left this place looking, it looked like he needed her more than she needed him.

The animals chuckled and a strange look came over their faces, like they knew some secret she didn’t know. She sighed heavily and put her hand on her hip. “Okay. Tell me about him. What is he like?”

“Well, he’s like you, of course!” they said together.

Like her? Well, what was she like? “I’m sorry. I don’t know much about humans yet. You’re gonna have to help me out. Is there anything else he’s like? Is he like a parrot? Or an elephant?”

The animals furrowed their brows as they thought hard to find something to compare this Adam to. Then, with a flash of insight in their eyes, they replied, “Adam is like God.”

She narrowed her eyes at them. They had to be kidding. “Like God?”

They nodded enthusiastically.

“So you mean to tell me that this “man” is going to lead me the way that God does? He’s going to protect me the way that God does? And He’s supposedly going to love me the way that God does?”

“Yes!” They shouted. “He’s made in God’s image so he’s just like God. Come! We’ll show you!”

She rolled her eyes at them. “Fine. But if he’s not everything you say he is, I’m leaving.”

She climbed onto Elephant’s back and they rode through the jungle to meet this man who was just like her and just like God.

Leave a Reply

